Thursday, June 26, 2014

ARC Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

The Vanishing Season
Author: Jodi Lynn Anderson
Publication: HarperTeen (July 1, 2014)

Description: From New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson comes The Vanishing Season, at once haunting and lovely, with a gut-wrenching final twist that will keep readers on their toes. It's perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Girls started vanishing in the fall.

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom. Until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenaged girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss. And by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

My Thoughts: This story begins when Maggie Larsen moves to the town of Gill Creek with her parents. They have come from Chicago because Mrs. Larsen has found a job. They are downsizing their lives because of changing economic times. Maggie is an only child who is being home-schooled by her unemployed dad. Maggie is quiet, thoughtful, and the type of kid who looks many times before she leaps.

The first person she meets is Pauline who is a unique free-spirit. She also meets Pauline's friend Liam. Pauline and Liam have grown up together and have a unique relationship. Liam is in love with Pauline who insistst that she doesn't see him that way. The three of them are the only ones living close in a rural area. They become friends. When a killer starts targeting girls in the area, concern rises. Pauline is sent away to live with an aunt. Liam and Maggie begin a romance - a first for Maggie. But then Pauline comes back.

Interspersed in this story is another story told by a ghost. It takes until the end of the story to find out who the ghost it.

I enjoyed this story. I liked the practical, pragmatic Maggie. I enjoyed watching the friendships and the romance grow. I was sad when it ended. Fans of romantic stories with ghosts will enjoy this one.

Favorite Quote:
Gill Creek reacted to the danger in its midst with fear but also with a slight bit of pride. The county had never been at the center of things before.
I got this eARC from Edelweiss. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!