Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Teaser Tuesday: The Inventor's Secret by Andrea Cremer

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser:
"You know that's a gun, right?" Jack's head poked down from the cannon box. "Not a sentient being."

"Don't make her angry," Charlotte said, patting the wide double barrels of the gun. "You won't like her temper."

Jack climbed down the ladder. "That's why I keep telling Ash to get you a cat or a bird. Guns aren't proper pets."
This week my teaser comes from The Inventor's Secret by Andrea Cremer. I got this steampunk title when I attended her author signing recently. Here is the description:
New from Andrea Cremer, the New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade novels, comes an action-packed alternate-history steampunk adventure.

In this world, sixteen-year-old Charlotte and her fellow refugees have scraped out an existence on the edge of Britain’s industrial empire. Though they live by the skin of their teeth, they have their health (at least when they can find enough food and avoid the Imperial Labor Gatherers) and each other. When a new exile with no memory of his escape  or even his own name seeks shelter in their camp he brings new dangers with him and secrets about the terrible future that awaits all those who have struggled has to live free of the bonds of the empire’s Machineworks.

The Inventor’s Secret is the first book of a YA steampunk series set in an alternate nineteenth-century North America where the Revolutionary War never took place and the British Empire has expanded into a global juggernaut propelled by marvelous and horrible machinery. Perfect for fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners, Cassandra Clare's Clockwork Angel, ScottWesterfeld's Leviathan and Phillip Reeve's Mortal Engines.

12 comments:

  1. Great teaser ! Thank you for stopping by my blog and commenting.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds great! It's been a while since I last read a Steampunk book. I think I'll add this one to my TBR. :)

    (Thank you for stopping by my blog.)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Haha that teaser made me laugh. Thanks for stopping by mine

    ReplyDelete
  4. Haha...that teaser made me laugh! I think I'm going to have to try this one! Thanks for stopping by!

    ReplyDelete
  5. LOL Guns are great pets for whackjobs.... :-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great teaser! I am going to look this book up. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh, I didn't know Cremer had written another series. I love steampunk and this looks really intriguing! Thanks for sharing this and for stopping by my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ah gotta love a woman with a gun, lol. Thank you for sharing and thank you for stopping by Fire & Ice.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ha, I like that teaser!! Guns aren't proper pets!! Nice!!

    Thanks for stopping by my TT @ Addicted Readers!

    ReplyDelete
  10. No, they aren't at all! Thanks for the visit!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!