Friday, August 15, 2014

Friday Memes: The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton

Happy Friday everybody!!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.


This week I am spotlighting The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton. This book is from my TBR mountain. I bought it because I have read and enjoyed other books by the author. Here is the description:
Fans of Neil Gaiman's American Gods and Holly Black's The Curse Workers will embrace this richly drawn, Norse-mythology-infused alternate world: the United States of Asgard. Seventeen-year-old Soren Bearskin is trying to escape the past. His father, a famed warrior, lost himself to the battle-frenzy and killed thirteen innocent people. Soren cannot deny that berserking is in his blood--the fevers, insomnia, and occasional feelings of uncontrollable rage haunt him. So he tries to remain calm and detached from everyone at Sanctus Sigurd's Academy. But that's hard to do when a popular, beautiful girl like Astrid Glyn tells Soren she dreams of him. That's not all Astrid dreams of--the daughter of a renowned prophetess, Astrid is coming into her own inherited abilities.

When Baldur, son of Odin and one of the most popular gods in the country, goes missing, Astrid sees where he is and convinces Soren to join her on a road trip that will take them to find not only a lost god, but also who they are beyond the legacy of their parents and everything they've been told they have to be.
Beginning:
My mom used to say that in the United States of Asgard, you can feel the moments when the threads of destiny knot together, to push you or pull you or crush you. But only if you're paying attention.
Friday 56:
Both sword and spear are back at the Spark; as one of Odin's, I can carry steel into any public place except for some temples, but that would have drawn immediate attention. My tattoo and my darker skin are enough to make me stand out.

13 comments:

  1. I don't know if the guy on the cover likes me or not. He's looking at me funny. lol Is he a bad guy who finds redemption?
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am intrigued by the sound of this one...thanks for sharing! Here's mine: “SAVE THE DATE”

    ReplyDelete
  3. The author's name sounds familiar but I'm not sure if I've read anything by her, but this looks very interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Is this a book that you could put in your library or is it too mature for young adults? I like the opening line. Anne's Friday Memes

    ReplyDelete
  5. The opening intrigues me and makes me curious about the United States of Asgard. Although this isn't my usual genre, I'd read more to find out what's going on.
    Here's the link to my Friday post: MADE FOR TWO.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I loved The Lost Sun, but had some trouble getting into The Strange Maid, although I do intend to go back to it.
    Check out my Friday 56

    ReplyDelete
  7. Like the 56, standing out isn't good when you want to be unnoticed!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm not a huge fantasy reader but I'm intrigued by this one. I especially like the beginning. I'll have to look for it. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm drawn right in to both the beginning and the 56. Odin's name really piqued me too.
    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I like books that connect with mythology. The opening and 56 both have me intrigued.
    Here is my 56 - http://fuonlyknew.com/2014/08/15/the-friday-56-32-waking-the-merrow-by-heather-rigney-not-so-nice-mermaids/

    ReplyDelete
  11. He must be handsome. Wonder what his tattoo looks like.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Oh, I definitely want to read this book! It's been on my TBR list for ages! Thanks for stopping by my Friday 56 and Book beginnings

    ReplyDelete
  13. I like the cover, but I don't read this genre.

    I hope it is a good read for you.

    ENJOY the rest of your weekend. When does school start?

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My Book Beginnings

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!