Thursday, February 12, 2015

ARC Review: Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall

Mars Evacuees
Author: Sophia McDougall
Series: Mars Evacuees (Book 1)
Publication: HarperCollins (February 17, 2015)

Description: From bestselling UK author Sophia McDougall comes one fresh and funny, adventure-filled tween debut about a group of kids evacuated to Mars! Perfect for fans of Artemis Fowl, this laugh-out-loud series is packed with nonstop fun. When Earth comes under attack by aliens, hilarious heroine Alice Dare and a select group of kids are sent to Mars. But things get very strange when the adults disappear into thin air, the kids face down an alien named Thsaaa, and Alice and her friends must save the galaxy!

For when plucky twelve-year-old Alice Dare learns she's being taken out of the Muckling Abbott School for Girls and sent to another planet, no one knows what to expect. This is one wild ride that will have kids chuckling the whole way through.

My Thoughts: Earth has been invaded by the Morror who are changing the climate to make Earth colder and more suited to their needs. Alice Dare's mother is a war hero who is battling the Morror in the skies over Earth. This is complicated by the fact that Morror ships and the Morror themselves are invisible.

In a last-ditch effort (or maybe a PR stunt) a group of about 300 children ages 8 to 16 are being sent to Mars. Scientists on Mars are terraforming but people can't live without additional oxygen. Some of the kids were chosen because their parents where prominent on Earth, others had high test scores, and still others were chosen by lottery.

One of the first kids Alice meets is Josephine who is another twelve-year-old and who tested in. She is an odd kid frequently picked on by others. Then she meets Carl, also twelve, and his younger brother Neil who is eight. Neil was chosen by lottery and allowed to bring his brother. Carl seems like a typical ADHD kid. He is always bouncing off the walls, pulling pranks, and generally making a spectacle of himself. At first Alice doesn't like him and Josephine can't stand him.

But once all the adults at their base on Mars disappear and the older, bullying kids take over, Josephine, Alice, Carl and Neil take off along with one of their teacher robots to try to get to the nearest base to find help. They have all sorts of exciting adventures and are in a great deal of danger.

But then they find an alien...

This wan an engaging science fiction story about a varied group of intrepid kids. Fans of adventure will enjoy this one.

Favorite Quote:
I wondered if this meant grown-ups actually listened to you when there wasn't a war on, because somehow I was skeptical.  
I got this ARC from Edelweiss. You can buy your copy here.

1 comment:

  1. I adored this one. The beginning was so fun, and then it got serious. I loved the interaction with the alien.

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!