Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Teaser Tuesday: No Parking at the End Times by Bryan Bliss

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser:
"We've been invited to church here," Dad says.

These seem to be the only words he knows anymore, and I look at the plates again, wondering what he'd do if I threw one across the kitchen—if I made a scene and refused to stop.
This week my teaser comes from No Parking at End Times by Bryan Bliss. I got this eARC from Edelweiss. Here is the description of this Feb. 24 release:
Abigail's parents believed the world was going to end. And—of course—it didn't. But they've lost everything anyway. And she must decide: does she still believe in them? Or is it time to believe in herself? Fans of Sara Zarr, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell will connect with this moving debut.

Abigail's parents never should have made that first donation to that end-of-times preacher. Or the next, or the next. They shouldn't have sold their house. Or packed Abigail and her twin brother, Aaron, into their old van to drive across the country to San Francisco, to be there for the "end of the world." Because now they're living in their van. And Aaron is full of anger, disappearing to who-knows-where every night. Their family is falling apart. All Abigail wants is to hold them together, to get them back to the place where things were right.

But maybe it's too big a task for one teenage girl. Bryan Bliss's thoughtful debut novel is about losing everything—and about what you will do for the people you love.

8 comments:

  1. interesting tease! I've had moments where I wanted to throw a plate across the room.
    trish - my teaser

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds interesting teaser - I do hope you are enjoying your read? Here is my TT for this week https://cleopatralovesbooks.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/teaser-tuesday-17-february/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh, I like the sound of this one. I can relate to that girl, as I had parents like those...LOL.

    Thanks for sharing...and here's mine: “YOU CAN TRUST ME”

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the sound of this teaser because sometimes it is something shocking that is needed to get a family out of their slump. Although this is quite a severe slump and I have no idea how a teenage girl would manage it! Thanks for sharing :) Hope you have a great week!
    My Tuesday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sounds like a fascinating story. I like the way the author showed the girl's anger (and conflict) in your Teaser.
    My Tuesday post features ALL THAT GLITTERS.

    ReplyDelete
  6. That title grabbed my attention and I like the synopsis. This would keep me turning the pages right to the end. Thanks for sharing it!

    My TT - http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/02/17/teaser-tuesdays-102-the-loch-by-steve-alten/

    ReplyDelete
  7. Sounds interesting, I believe I have this one on my "want to read" list.
    Here's mine:
    http://itsareadingthing.com/teaser-tuesday-14/

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!