Friday, March 20, 2015

Friday Memes: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

Happy Friday everybody!!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

This week I am spotlighting Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes. I was approached by the author to review this one. Here is the description from Amazon for this March 24 release:
A dark and twisted psychological tale that will keep readers guessing, perfect for fans of I Hunt Killers and Gone Girl.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money. So with the help of his friend Preston and his girlfriend, Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something, and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn't think twice about it. But then Preston never comes home. And the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead to Preston's body.

Terrifying clues that point to Max as the killer….
Beginning:
I don't make to-do lists, but if I did, today's would have gone something like this: 1. get drunk, 2. get laid, 3. go surfing (not necessarily in that order). Noticeably absent from the list: get arrested.
Friday 56:
"You are weird in the best possible way." I kissed the top of her forehead. "And I think it's cool that you don't like all that boring girly stuff."

5 comments:

  1. I've seen this book floating around a few places. It sounds interesting even if it isn't something I would normally read.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Amanda

    ReplyDelete
  2. Love the page 56. Great message for anyone.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Terrific opening that makes me want to know more. I love the cover too. This isn't a book I would normally pick up, but it sounds like one I would enjoy.
    My Friday post features THE SNOW CHILD.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've seen this book but know nothing about it but that premise is definitely intriguing! I love the excerpts - especially that beginning.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This looks like an amazing read!
    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!