Saturday, July 18, 2015

ARC Review: Nightborn by Lou Anders

Nightborn
Author: Lou Anders
Series: Thrones and Bones, Book 2
Publication: Crown Books for Young Readers (July 14, 2015)

Description: From the author of Frostborn comes Book 2 in the acclaimed Thrones and Bones fantasy-adventure trilogy for fans of Lloyd Alexander and Brandon Mull.

Karn Korlundsson is a gamer. Not a riddle solver. But in order to rescue his best friend, Thianna Frostborn, he will need to travel to the faraway city of Castlebriar (by wyvern), learn how to play a new board game called Charioteers (not a problem), decipher the Riddle of the Horn, and tangle with mysterious elves.

Meet Desstra. She’s in training to join the Underhand—the elite agents of the dark elves. When she crosses paths with Karn, she is not all that she appears to be.

Everyone is chasing after the horn of Osius, an ancient artifact with the power to change the world. The lengths to which Karn will go in the name of friendship will be sorely tested. Who knew that solving a riddle could be so deadly?

My Thoughts: This second adventure in the Thrones & Bones series has Karn being sent by the dragon Orm to find the second of the horns that control the dragons. Orm has already sent Thianna looking and she has disappeared. Karn is willing to search but he is much more interested in finding Thianna than he is in finding the horn.

Desstra is a Dark Elf who is also searching for the horn. She wants to become an elite agent of the Underhand and must successfully complete this mission. Her plan is to pretend to befriend Karn but the plan backfires on her when she realizes that Karn is a good person who really becomes her friend.

The kids' chase takes them to Castlebriar where they solve the first part of a riddle but not before dealing with elves who want the horn preserved for some future use. Then their quest takes them to Gordasha where they meet a legend and stop a war.

This story was filled with action and adventure. The main characters - Karn and Thiassa - are interesting people who are unlikely but strong friends. This story is as much about friendship as it is about the adventure of tracking down a magical object.

Fans of fantasy, stories about friendship, and adventure will enjoy this one.

Favorite Quote:
"You remember my comment about weeds and untended gardens?"

"How could I forget?" said Karn. "It's such a flattering image."
I got this ARC from NetGalley. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!