Thursday, December 17, 2015

Book Review: The Ranger's Apprentice: The Lost Stories by John Flanagan

The Lost Stories
Author: John Flanagan
Series: The Ranger's Apprentice (Book 11)
Publication: Philomel Books; First Edition edition (October 4, 2011)

Description: The secret history of the New York Times bestselling Ranger's Apprentice, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Unconfirmed accounts of a group of Araluen warriors - tales of adventure, battle, and triumph over evil - have spread for centuries throughout the known world. Most notable is a clan shrouded in mystery, phantom warriors known as the Rangers.

Two names pass the lips of every storyteller: Halt, and his apprentice, Will. They and their comrades in arms are said to have traveled throughout the kingdom and beyond its borders, protecting those who needed it most. If true, these rumors can be only part of the story.

Only now, centuries after these men and women walked the earth, do we have confirmation of their existence. Behold The Lost Stories, Book 11 in the Ranger's Apprentice epic.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

My Thoughts: This book contains nine stories and a fragment. The first story has Halt telling Will about Will's parentage and the little he knows about his family. The second story gives Gilan star billing as he investigates some missing money and a bandit who is plaguing the area. The third story has Will and Alyss teaming up to find a band of Roamers and recover Will's missing dog.

The next story has Will and Halt trying to find some Wreckers before they succeed is grounding more ships. Will is also in the midst of writing his speech for Horace and Evanlyn's wedding and is trying to fit in every big word he has ever heard.

Dinner for Five stars Jenny who wants to prepare a nice dinner for her Gilan but is interrupted by some outlaws who robbed the silversmith and are looking for a place to lay low until the chase passes them by. Jenny, being an excellent cook, makes unconventional use of a leg of lamb.

The next story takes place at Horace and Evanlyn's wedding when Will almost misses his dance with Alyss as he is busy stopping assassins from killing Evanlyn.

The seventh story in the book tells about how Crowley and Halt meet and become friends. It gives some hints about Halt's background.

The Wolf tells the story of an injured wolf and how Will and Tug hunt for him. It also tells what happens when it is time for a Ranger's horse to be retired. I loved the close relationship between Will and Tug.

The final story in the book tells about Will and Alyss's wedding day.

All of the stories were great because they gave more insight into the characters and because they filled some of details that didn't fit into the main stories.

Favorite Quote:
"I've heard that the pen is mightier than the sword," Gilan said. "But I never knew the inkwell could be mightier than the dagger."
I bought this one in 2011. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!