Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Teaser Tuesday: The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser:
She nudged my chin up. "When you are the Valtia, you'll be better than good, Elli. You may doubt anything in this world, but never doubt yourself."
This week my teaser comes from The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine. I was invited to view this January 5 release and downloaded it from NetGalley. Here is the description from Amazon:
The elders chose Elli to be queen, but they chose wrong in this beautifully crafted novel in the tradition of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli has lived in the temple, surrounded by luxury and tutored by priests, as she prepares for the day when the Valtia perishes and the magic finds a new home in her. Elli is destined to be the most powerful Valtia to ever rule.

But when the queen dies defending the kingdom from invading warriors, the magic doesn’t enter Elli. It’s nowhere to be found.

Disgraced, Elli flees to the outlands, the home of banished criminals—some who would love to see the temple burn with all its priests inside. As she finds her footing in this new world, Elli uncovers devastating new information about the Kupari magic, those who wield it, and the prophecy that foretold her destiny. Torn between the love she has for her people and her growing loyalty to the banished, Elli struggles to understand the true role she was meant to play. But as war looms, she must align with the right side—before the kingdom and its magic are completely destroyed.

7 comments:

  1. Sounds intriguing. Mine is from a true story about twins: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-15Z

    ReplyDelete
  2. "You may doubt anything in this world, but never doubt yourself." I love this so much and the synopsis sounds promising too! Thanks for sharing this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh nice! Seeing a lot of buzz over this one! Hope you're enjoying it!

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like a story where the character grows, becomes more than she ever imagined.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ooo... this sounds fun - anything in the style of Kristin Cashore is worth a second look. Mine is The Just City by Jo Walton https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2015/12/29/teaser-tuesdays-29th-dec/

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am needing so much more! This book has been on my radar and I am so intrigued by it. I hope that you enjoy it! :)

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!