Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Teaser Tuesday: The Lost Stories by John Flanagan

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Teaser:
Redman County
The Republic of Aralan States (formerly the medieval Kingdom of Araluen)
July 1896

Professor Giles McFarlane groaned softly as he eased his aching back. He was getting too old to remain crouched for long periods like this, gently whisking dust away from the excavated ground before him as he sought to release yet another artifact from the earth that had held it captive for so long.
This week I am spotlighting a book from my TBR mountain. The Ranger's Apprentice: The Lost Stories by John Flanagan has been on my stack since October 4, 2011. I recently met John Flanagan and bought his newest book only to find out that is grew out of one of the short stories in this book. Here is the description from Amazon:
The secret history of the New York Times bestselling Ranger's Apprentice, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Unconfirmed accounts of a group of Araluen warriors - tales of adventure, battle, and triumph over evil - have spread for centuries throughout the known world. Most notable is a clan shrouded in mystery, phantom warriors known as the Rangers.

Two names pass the lips of every storyteller: Halt, and his apprentice, Will. They and their comrades in arms are said to have traveled throughout the kingdom and beyond its borders, protecting those who needed it most. If true, these rumors can be only part of the story.

Only now, centuries after these men and women walked the earth, do we have confirmation of their existence. Behold The Lost Stories, Book 11 in the Ranger's Apprentice epic.

Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

6 comments:

  1. I can see this really grabbing young readers; it appeals to me as well. Thanks for sharing this author. And congratulations on passing your reading challenge goal! Here's my teaser/opening from The Snow Angel: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-14R

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm fascinated by stories that involve archaeology, so your Teaser grabbed my attention. Sounds like a book I'd enjoy.
    My Tuesday post features THE JOURNEY BACK – A Doublesight Story.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oooh interesting teaser! Totally new to me read!

    Here's my Tuesday Post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. My teaser is set in Medieval times too! I could never tire of this era; great teaser!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't heard of this book before. It sounds like a really fun series that I would enjoy! :)

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!