Friday, January 29, 2016

Friday Memes: Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Happy Friday everybody!!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
Sully pulled the thin wad of bill from his pocket and counted. Thirteen bucks. He'd hauled his butt out of bed at six a.m. on a Saturday to make thirteen bucks in seven hours. 
Friday 56:
He wanted to ask her what her life was like, but she didn't seem eager to talk about life in the Bronx. Mostly she wanted to talk about spheres. That was fine with Sully.
This week I am spotlighting Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh. I found this one when I was browsing NetGalley. Here is the description from Amazon:
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award winner Will McIntosh pits four underprivileged teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent.

No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

11 comments:

  1. I have that one to review, I hope you are liking it! :)

    Stormi
    Friday Memes

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've been wanting to read The 5th Wave for a while now. If I like it, maybe I'll pick this one up when I'm done with the trilogy! :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks for the heads up on this one. Sounds great! And thanks for stopping by my blog!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This looks great. I love the books you share. Here's my Friday Book Confession

    ReplyDelete
  5. I want to know more, seven hours for thirteen dollars that just seems crazy low pay. Happy Friday!

    ReplyDelete
  6. You share such great books. This looks wonderful. Here's my Friday Book Confession

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds interesting and I like the premise. Hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
  8. A sphere dealer, that sounds rather unique. Hope you enjoy your weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Sully sounds like an interesting character.
    Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  10. This sounds really good! I'll have to add this to my list! Thanks for visiting my Friday meme

    ReplyDelete
  11. That sounds like a really good combination! I'll have to add this to my ever-growing tbr! :)

    Check out my Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings).

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!