Friday, April 29, 2016

Friday Memes: Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman

Happy Friday everybody!!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

"In this earthly life," my father often said to me, "we move with real or willful blindness. But only one way leads to true darkness."
Friday 56:
I saw at once how Francis had known they were king's men; beneath their broad-brimmed hats they sported the shaven heads of noblemen, having forgone their usual wigs for the journey. Everyone knew the aristocrats were loyal to the king; these men were our enemies.
This week I am spotlighting Traitor Angels by Anne Blankman. I got this eARC from Edelweiss. Here is the description from Amazon:
A romantic and exhilarating historical adventure about a girl who must unlock the secrets within Paradise Lost to save her father—perfect for fans of Revolution and Code Name Verity—from acclaimed author Anne Blankman, whose debut novel, Prisoner of Night and Fog, was a Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Teens in 2015

Six years have passed since England’s King Charles II returned from exile to reclaim the throne, ushering in a new era of stability for his subjects.

Except for Elizabeth Milton. The daughter of notorious poet John Milton, Elizabeth has never known her place in this shifting world—except by her father’s side. By day she helps transcribe his latest masterpiece, the epic poem Paradise Lost, and by night she learns languages and sword fighting. Although she does not dare object, she suspects that he’s training her for a mission whose purpose she cannot fathom.

Until one night the king’s men arrive at her family’s country home to arrest her father. Determined to save him, Elizabeth follows his one cryptic clue and journeys to Oxford, accompanied by her father’s mysterious young houseguest, Antonio Viviani, a darkly handsome Italian scientist who surprises her at every turn. Funny, brilliant, and passionate, Antonio seems just as determined to protect her father as she is—but can she trust him with her heart?

When the two discover that Milton has planted an explosive secret in the half-finished Paradise Lost—a secret the king and his aristocratic supporters are desperate to conceal—Elizabeth is faced with a devastating choice: cling to the shelter of her old life, or risk cracking the code, unleashing a secret that could save her father . . . and tear apart the very fabric of society.


  1. Your beginning and 56 were beautifully written and it sounds like a very interesting read.

  2. Elizabeth sounds like a strong character - one I'd like to get to know better. I like the writing in both your excerpts.
    Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.
    Sandy @ TEXAS TWANG

  3. I've seen this one around, and it does seem like it could be an interesting read.

  4. I was captivated from the opening. Sounds like one to keep you reading into the wee hours:)

    My Friday 56 from Titans

  5. I'm pulled right in. I love that beginning! Happy weekend!

  6. I haven't heard much about this novel, but I've seen it around a lot. Hope you enjoy!

  7. I loved both teasers! And I love the sound of this book - have never read anything by this author. Will be adding this to my list. Thanks for visiting my Friday meme

  8. Definitely need to add to my TBR. I love anything historical and the two teasers were great.

  9. Thanks for sharing.

    Not my kind of read, but I like the cover.

    Silver's Reviews
    My Book Beginnings


I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!