Saturday, December 3, 2016

Book Review: Forest of Ruin by Kelley Armstrong

Forest of Ruin
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Series: Age of Legends (Book 3)
Publication: HarperCollins (April 5, 2016)

Description: Perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones, this is the breathtaking conclusion to the Age of Legends trilogy—from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong.

The empire rests on the edge of a knife, and sisters Ashyn and Moria are the handle and the blade. Desperate to outmaneuver the evil Alvar Kitsune, whose hold on the people grows stronger every day, Emperor Tatsu begs Moria to put aside past grievances and ally with Gavril—at least long enough to make an attempt on Alvar's life. Meanwhile, reunited with her long-lost grandfather, Ashyn discovers that she is the key to a ritual that could reawaken an ancient dragon and turn the tide of the coming battle in their favor.

But with lies and betrayal lurking around every corner, Ashyn and Moria will have to decide once and for all where their allegiances lie. And it may not be where their hearts would lead them. . . .

In this third and final book in her epic and enchanting trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong blends fantasy, action, and romance to give readers the unforgettable ending they've been waiting for.

My Thoughts: This book concludes the Age of Legends trilogy. When the book begins, Ashyn and Moria are separated on each on dangerous missions. They are both trying to keep away from Alvar Kitsune and find a way to defeat him and his shadow armies.

Moria is traveling with Gavril Kitsune who is Alvar's son. They are still trying to get over events in the last book and Gavril has lost Moria's trust because of his actions. He struggles to deal with his father's treachery and feels guilt that he ever supported his father.

Ashyn is traveling with Ronan. She is the one who encounters a man who says he is her grandfather and who wants to use her to wake some sleeping dragons. The dragons are the emblem of the imperial family and a dragon could be seen as an omen from the gods that they favor the emperor over Alvar Kitsune in the upcoming war. Ronan is a casteless thief who wants to regain caste as a warrior.

When the characters along with the emperor's bastard son Tyrus reconnect, they do their part to end the revolt led by Alvar Kitsune but not before they face many dangers and many losses.

This is an engaging epic fantasy series with strong characters, both male and female, and lots of adventure. While there is romance too, it is not the happily ever after sort which seems most realistic for the premises of this story.

Favorite Quote:
"You make a hard choice, little Keeper."

"I make the only choice."

"There are always others."

"Then I make the only one I can."
I bought this one. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!