Saturday, January 14, 2017

Book Review: Blood Passage by Heather Demetrios

Blood Passage
Author: Heather Demetrios
Series: Dark Caravan Cycle (Book 2)
Publication: Balzer + Bray (March 1, 2016)

Description: Blood Passage is the electrifying second book in the Dark Caravan Cycle—a modern jinni fantasy-adventure trilogy from author Heather Demetrios, perfect for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke and Bone series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy.

When Nalia arrives in Morocco to fulfill Malek's third and final wish, she's not expecting it to be easy. Especially because Malek isn't the only one after Solomon's sigil, an ancient magical ring that gives its wearer the power to control the entire jinn race. Nalia has also promised to take Raif, leader of the jinn revolution, to its remote location. Though Nalia is free of the bottle and shackles that once bound her to Malek as his slave, she's in more danger than ever before and no closer to rescuing her imprisoned brother.

Meanwhile, Malek's past returns with a vengeance, and his well-manicured facade crumbles as he confronts the darkness within himself; and Raif must decide what's more important: his love for Nalia or his devotion to the cause of Arjinnan freedom.

My Thoughts: This is the second book in a trilogy. Nalia has been freed from her bottle and is no longer Malek's slave. But she has one more of his wishes to fulfill before she is finished with him. Unfortunately, he wishes for the Sigil of Solomon which would allow him to control all jinn. Raif, who is the leader of the jinn revolution and Nalia's love interest, also wants the sigil to help him win the revolution on Arjinna.

The three of them, along with Raif's sister Zanari, travel to Morocco following clues that will lead to the Sigil. The Ifrit who are commanded by Calar want to prevent Nalia and the others from finding the sigil which would lead to her defeat.

Besides the external threat posed by Calar, each of the characters are facing internal struggles. Even though Nalia is the last surviving member of the highest caste of jinn, she has no interest in being the next empress. She wants to rescue her little brother and then live a quiet life. Malek wants Nalia to return his love for her. Raif wants her love and her help in winning his revolution. Zanari is torn between her love for her brother and her love for a new friend who doesn't want to leave Earth. Malek and Raif are sort of rivals for Nalia's love except that Nalia hates Malek and will never love the man who made her a slave and kept her in a bottle.

This story has sad parts, adventurous parts, and romantic parts. I enjoyed the world building and the trials they had to face to get to the Sigil of Solomon. Since it is the middle book in a trilogy, the ending is a cliffhanger.

Favorite Quote:
In the darkness of the tunnel, in that place without light or hope, Nalia realized that she didn't want to fight. She wanted to build. To plant and grow and nurture. She wanted long, uneventful days. She wanted time. But to get any of those things, she'd have to fight and fight hard.

And she wasn't sure how much fight was left in her.
I bought this one. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!