Thursday, February 23, 2017

ARC Review: The Dragon's Price by Bethany Wiggins

The Dragon's Price
Author: Bethany Wiggins
Series: The Transference Trilogy (Book 1)
Publication: Crown Books for Young Readers (February 21, 2017)

Description: Fans of Julie Kagawa’s Talon and Renee Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn will devour this action-packed fantasy adventure about a girl who chooses to surrender herself to a deadly dragon rather than marry an enemy prince.

When two warring kingdoms unified against a deadly menace laying waste to both their lands, they had to make a choice: vow to marry their heirs to one another, or forfeit their lives to the dragon.

Centuries later, everyone expects the sheltered princess Sorrowlynn to choose the barbarian prince over the fire-breathing beast—everyone, that is, except Sorrow, who is determined to control her own destiny or die trying.

As she is lowered into the dragon’s chamber, she assumes her life is over until Golmarr, the young prince she just spurned, follows her with the hopes of being her hero and slaying the dragon. But the dragon has a different plan. . . .

If the dragon wins, it will be freed from the spell that has bound it to the cave for centuries. If Sorrow or Golmarr vanquish the dragon, the victor will gain its treasure and escape the cave beneath the mountain. But what exactly is the dragon hiding?

There are no safe havens for Sorrow or Golmarr—not even with each other—and the stakes couldn’t be higher as they risk everything to protect their kingdom.

My Thoughts: Faodarian princess Sorrowlynn has reached the age of sixteen and must take part in the Mountain Binding which preserves the peace and keeps the Fire Dragon bound inside the mountain. She has a choice, sort of. She will be offered to the Antharian heir to the throne. She can choose him or be fed to the dragon. If the heir refuses her, a lamb will be given to the dragon and she will be able to return home. It sounds like a simple choice but it isn't for Sorrowlynn.

Returning home means returning to her isolated room where she is beaten on her legs to the point of scarring by the man she knows as her father for any perceived infraction of his rules. If the Antharian heir accepts her, it means marrying a man she doesn't know and into a culture that she has been told is brutal and violent. The dragon seems like the best option to her. She chooses to be fed to the dragon.

The Antharian king's youngest son Golmarr chases after her when she runs away on one of the Antharians fast and well bred horses despite having only ridden on placid Faodarian horses previously. He admires her courage and her determination. He offers to become her betrothed at the ceremony. When she still chooses the dragon and is lowered into its cave, he follows her. This begins a great adventure.

They have to find their way out of the cave without being eaten by the dragon or any of the other creatures who inhabit the cave. They are without food and water. Having to defeat the dragon before they can escape is not an easy task for a young woman who has no self-defense or weapons training. And defeating the dragon brings on its own set of problems instead of being the end of the story.

I liked the setting of this story. I liked Sorrowlynn who developed unexpectedly throughout this book. I also liked the way the relationship with Golmarr progressed as they fell in love. I will be eagerly waiting for the next book in this series.

Favorite Quote:
"But it's not..."

"Proper, I know. But neither id being fed to a dragon, or hacking a Mayanchi to bits, or cutting off your skirt, or sleeping curled in my arms. But when necessary and proper battle it out, necessary always wins."
I received this one for review from NetGalley. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!