Friday, February 24, 2017

Friday Memes: Freedom's Slave by Heather Demetrios

Happy Friday everybody!!
Book Beginnings on Friday is now hosted by Rose City Reader. The Friday 56 is hosted at Freda's Voice. Check out the links above for the rules and for the posts of the participants each week. Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

Beginning:
Bottles.

They were the only illumination in the pitch-black room. Hundreds of them, filled with jinn of every caste. Clear bottles, pulsing with the light of their prisoners' magic. Emerald, sapphire, gold, ruby: the jinn energy swirled inside, trapped.
Friday 56 (from 56% of the eARC):
Taz had notice the grudging affection that had developed between Kes and the formidable gryphon. It occurred to Taz that the creature may be nearly as beside himself with fear for Kes as Taz was.
This week I'm reading Freedom's Slave by Heather Demetrios. I got this eARC from Edelweiss. Here is the description from Amazon:
Freedom’s Slave is the exhilarating end to Heather Demetrios’s Dark Caravan Cycle—a modern jinni fantasy-adventure trilogy, which Publishers Weekly called “an intricate and smartly written story,” perfect for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone series and Leigh Bardugo's Grisha Trilogy.

After three long years in exile, Nalia is ready to return to her homeland and sit on the throne that is rightfully hers. But the gods might have other plans. Forced to endure untold horrors on the journey to Arjinna, Nalia learns that it will take more than cutting down the tyrant Calar to get her crown.

Meanwhile, Raif’s return to Arjinna as the commander of the revolution against Calar and her army isn’t as smooth as he’d hoped. Though he has more soldiers than ever before, his love for Nalia is losing him the trust of his comrades . . . and the war. But little does the resistance know that insurrection is brewing among Calar’s own ranks—and from the one person she trusts the most.

Is Nalia and Raif’s enduring love enough to transform and rescue their homeland? Will they be willing to save the realm, no matter the cost?

5 comments:

  1. I'm curious for more! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Goodness, this cover is breathtaking. I hope you enjoy your weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow. That's some opening. This sounds different from what I expected, in a good way!

    My Friday 56 from Relentless

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!