Saturday, March 25, 2017

ARC Review: 100 Hours by Rachel Vincent

100 Hours
Author: Rachel Vincent
Series: 100 Hours (Book 1)
Publication: Katherine Tegen Books (March 28, 2017)

Description: In this sexy, pulse-pounding new duology by New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent, a decadent spring break beach getaway becomes a terrifying survival story when six Miami teens are kidnapped.

Maddie is beyond done with her cousin Genesis’s entitled and shallow entourage. Genesis is so over Miami’s predictable social scene with its velvet ropes, petty power plays, and backstabbing boyfriends.

While Maddie craves family time for spring break, Genesis seeks novelty—like a last-minute getaway to an untouched beach in Colombia. And when Genesis wants something, it happens.

But paradise has its price. Dragged from their tents under the cover of dark, Genesis, Maddie, and their friends are kidnapped and held for ransom deep inside the jungle—with no diva left behind. It all feels so random to everyone except Genesis. She knows they were targeted for a reason. And that reason is her.

Now, as the hours count down, only one thing’s for certain: If the Miami hostages can’t thwart their captors’ plan, no one will make it out alive.

Tapping into our darkest fears while exploring issues of injustice, loss, and the courage to fight for what matters most, this thrilling read is perfect for fans of Nova Ren Suma, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Jennifer L. Armentrout.

My Thoughts: This was an exciting, fast-paced thriller with intriguing characters. Genesis, whose father own a large shipping company, is the leader of her crew which includes her cousins Ryan and Maddie, her boyfriend Holden, and her friends Pen and Neda. Instead of spending their Spring Break in the Bahamas, Genesis decides that Colombia would be a better choice. Her grandmother lives there, her father was born there, and Ryan and Maddie's father was killed there.

The story begins with two people running from a woman toward the beach and the hope of freedom. Then the story counts down the previous hundred hours from the alternating viewpoints of Genesis and Maddie as the group are kidnapped by strangers they later learn are both terrorists and drug smugglers.

I found Genesis's viewpoint fascinating though I didn't like her at all at first and gradually came to understand her better as the story progressed. I also liked Maddie's viewpoint as she discovered strengths and talents that she didn't know she had.

Fans of thrillers will enjoy this one and wait eagerly for the book which completes the duology.

Favorite Quote:
Luke shrugs. "It's clean. It's the only thing I had that was small enough to fit into his mouth. Not that my underwear is small." His face turns bright red. "Not that it's big either. I mean..." Finally he gives up with a sigh. "Stop talking while you're ahead, Luke," he mumbles.

"I'm not sure you were actually ahead."
I got this one for review from Edelweiss. You can buy your copy here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!