Monday, September 25, 2017

ARC Review: Devils & Thieves by Jennifer Rush

Devils & Thieves
Author: Jennifer Rush
Series: Devils & Thieves (Book 1)
Publication: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (October 3, 2017)

Description: A thrilling new urban fantasy filled with magic and motorcycle gangs from Jennifer Rush, author of the Altered saga--perfect for fans of Beautiful Creatures.

Eighteen-year-old Jemmie Carmichael has grown up surrounded by magic in the quiet town of Hawthorne, New York. In her world, magic users are called "kindled," and Jemmie would count herself among them if only she could cast a simple spell without completely falling apart. It doesn't help that she was also recently snubbed by Crowe, the dangerous and enigmatic leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang and the unofficial head of their turf.

When the entire kindled community rolls into Hawthorne for an annual festival, a rumor begins spreading that someone is practicing forbidden magic. Then people start to go missing. With threats closing in from every side, no one can be trusted. Jemmie and Crowe will have to put aside their tumultuous history to find their loved ones, and the only thing that might save them is the very flaw that keeps Jemmie from fully harnessing her magic. For all her years of feeling useless, Jemmie may just be the most powerful kindled of all.
My Thoughts: Jemmie lives among the kindled but, despite the fact that she has magic, she doesn't fit in. She is so sensitive to magic that it makes her sick. She drinks to mute the effects of being surrounded by magic. This year her town is hosting the annual gathering of the magical familes and Jemmie knows it won't be a good time for her.

The leader of the Black Devils kindled motorcycle gang is Crowe Medici. He's her best friend Alex's older brother. Jemmie has had a crush on him for years but after a couple of kisses he set her aside for another girl which really raises the tension between them. Crowe has recently taken over the club after the suspicious death of his father. Because he thinks a rival club caused his father's death, there is even more tension at the annual gathering.

Meanwhile, to get over her attraction to Crowe, Jemmie has been texting, skyping, and otherwise communicating with a boy named Darek from the rival Deathstalkers club. They met at the previous gathering and have become friends. He is really into her but she still has Crowe on her mind.

Things start going wrong at the gathering when people start disappearing. One of the missing is Jemmie's best friend Alex. Jemmie and Crowe have to work together to find the missing people and along the way they learn a number of secrets about each other and their magical world.

This book ends with a cliffhanger that has me very eager to read the next book. It had a slow start with lots of world building, Jemmie's relationship with her magic, and setting up the tension between Crowe and Jemmie but, once the action started, it was a fast-paced, exciting story.

Favorite Quote:
Sure, I might have magic. I just can't use it.

And in the kindled world, that makes me about as useful as a dreck.
I received this one in exchange for an honest review from . You can buy your copy here.

1 comment:

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!