Friday, January 26, 2018

ARC Review: Layover by Amy Andelson and Emily Meyer

Layover
Author: Amy Andelson & Emily Meyer
Publication: Crown Books for Young Readers (February 6, 2018)

Description: Fans of Julie Buxbaum's Tell Me Three Things and Morgan Matson's Since You've Been Gone will get caught up in the drama of this road trip romance that begins with an unplanned flight layover in L.A. and turns into a wild adventure.

FLYNN: At first we were almost strangers. But ever since I moved to New York, Amos was the one person I could count on. And together we were there for Poppy. (I mean, what kind of parents leave their kid to be raised by a nanny?) I just didn't expect to fall for him--and I never expected him to leave us.

AMOS: I thought I was the only one who felt it. I told myself it was because we were spending so much time together--taking care of Poppy and all. But that night, I could tell she felt it, too. And I freaked out--you're not supposed to fall for your stepsister. So I ran away to boarding school. I should have told her why I was leaving, but every time I tried, it felt like a lie.

One missed flight was about to change their lives forever. . . .

Perfect for fans of Clueless and brought to you by two Hollywood screenwriters, this wild journey of unlikely romance, heartbreak, and adventure--set against the backdrop of a blended family in free fall during a rebellious layover in Los Angeles--reveals the true value of the unbreakable bonds we forge when we dare to let ourselves risk it all.

My Thoughts: This is a story about three kids taking a layover in Los Angeles instead of getting on a plane to Bora Bora where there parents are going to tell them that they are divorcing. Each chapter is told by one of the kids.

Flynn has recently come to live with her father Jack after the death of her mother. She had previously spent time in New York with Jack, his wife Louisa, Louisa's son Amos, and their daughter Poppy. She is sad and still coming to terms with her mother's death.

Amos left for boarding school while Flynn was away as a camp counselor. He left without an explanation which added to Flynn's sadness.

Poppy is almost ten. She suffers from an anxiety disorder and feels like a weird misfit at her school. She depends on her brother and sister to be there for her. She is the one who overhears the arguments between her parents and hears that they are going to divorce.

The three of them decided not to go to Bora Bora but to stay in Los Angeles. They want to spend time together before their family is split up and are sort of hoping that their actions might cause their parents to rethink their divorce. Flynn has a crush there who is eager to drive them around and give them a place to stay. Amos's father is there too but he hasn't seen him for a few years. His father Clay is an alcoholic and an artist. When Amos goes to visit, he finds that Clay is now clean and sober.

The kids have a variety of adventures including a fraught and scary visit to Disneyland where Poppy gets lost. Seeing the story from Amos's, Flynn's, and Poppy's viewpoints shows a picture of people who are struggling to know what family means. Both Amos and Flynn have issues with caring about others because they've both lost people important to them. I liked each of the kids though they were all emotionally damaged in some ways.

This was an interesting contemporary story with engaging characters.

Favorite Quote:
But life is full of leaving people behind -- or being left behind.
I received this one in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. You can buy your copy here.

1 comment:

  1. This sounds like an interesting book. And I love the cover!

    ReplyDelete

I love getting comments. Let me know what you think.

This blog is now officially declared an Award Free zone! I do appreciate your kindness in thinking of me and I am humbled by your generosity. Your comments are award enough for me. Comment away!